Why am I participating in the Flats & Handwashing Challenge?

flatschallenge2013imtakingthechallenge

This is the first year that I have participated in the flats challenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry. We have been cloth diapering our daughter for just about a full year now and are so glad that we have made the switch. Most people only gave us a few months of cloth diapering before we would switch back to disposables. Man have we proved them wrong! Cloth diapers are something that both my husband and I love, because it definitely makes diapering more fun and entertaining.

I have decided to participate in this challenge for two main reasons, to show parents that you do not need to spend a ton of money on diapers (cloth or disposable) to diaper your children, and to let all the moms that work outside of the home (and think they are too busy to cloth diaper) know cloth diapering is not as bad as they might think it is. These two reasons mean quite a deal to me, you don’t have to buy a huge stash of diapers to diaper your children and it can fit into your daily/weekly routine with ease. I want to talk a little about each reason in more detail for this post.

Reason 1: You do not need to spend a ton of money on diapers (cloth or disposable) to diaper your children.

The reason my husband and I started cloth diapering was to save money. I had quit my job when my daughter was about 4 months old, to stay at home with her and look for a job where I could use my college degree. During that time my husband worked two jobs and we ended up falling behind on our bills. We had to look at where exactly our money was going and how we could cut back on different items.

I had seen a few different posts online from my sister in law who was starting to look into cloth diapering, and sent her a message to find out if they had gotten any cloth diapers to try out yet. She informed me that she hadn’t started but would send me some information that she had found on them. I later mentioned switching to cloth diapers to my husband and he was quick to remind me that he suggested when I was pregnant that we used cloth diapers on our daughter. So I started doing my research on cloth diapers, even asked a lady from the WIC office about them and that is when she let me know about Heiny Helpers. Heiny Helpers is a group in Bloomington that will lend out a set of cloth diapers for family’s that need diapering assistance. This was a blessing, and I am thankful everyday for their help.

1st Flat Cloth Diaper!

1st Flat Cloth Diaper!

Heiny Helpers gave us time to build up our stash of cloth diapers to a size that fit our family best and allowed us to wash them every other day. After discovering the cloth diapering online community, I realized there is a great deal of support and help out there for anyone who would like to make the switch to cloth diapers.

Reason 2:  To let all the moms that work outside of the home (and think they are too busy to cloth diaper) know cloth diapering is not as bad as they might think it is.

Of course when I started cloth diapering I was home with my daughter and it was very easy to fit cloth diapering into our everyday routine. When looking at cloth diapering over all it has been more of a blessing than a burden.  I will admit when I found a new job I was nervous that I might be too busy to cloth diaper, but that was not the case at all.

Working full time, outside of the home, and cloth diapering is no different than being a Work at home mom or a stay at home mom. Cloth diapering is very easy to fit into your weekly and is not that noticeable. You might think it is just one more thing to add on to your to do list, but I bet you hardly notice. When you decided that cloth diapering is something that will work for your family it does not become a burden, because you will make it work for your family. I absolutely love my current job and I love being a mom, both bring happiness to my life that I did not know could be a part of it.

I am very excited to participate this year in Dirty Diaper Laundry’s Flats and Handwashing challenge. I know that it will set a different routine in our daily lives, but for some people this is their everyday life. I am also excited to explore flats for the first time and see if they will be a happy addition to our current cloth diaper stash.

Check back every day this week for more updates on how the challenge is going for our family. Also be sure to check out Dirty Diaper Laundry’s page to see how others are doing with this challenge.

Leave a Reply

