Flats and Handwashing Challenge Day 3: MeeMaw’s Flats Experience

PhotoGrid_1369253429409

As most of you know I am participating in Dirty Diaper Laundry’s Flats & Handwashing Challenge. Today is an open topic day, and I decided to see how my Mother liked using flats since she watched our daughter yesterday while we were at work.

Yesterday morning when my Mother got to our apartment I reminded her that we are doing the flats challenge and showed her how to do the Jo fold on the flats. I asked her if she could let me know about her experience using the flats so that I could get a sense of how this challenge is going of other members of our family. My Mother said she was not worried about using them. Most might think that my mom probably used cloth diapers on me when I was a younger, when actually she used disposable. So the only cloth diapers she has used have been modern cloth diapers on our daughter.

I did a little Q & A with my Mother today to find out how flats worked for her yesterday.

Question 1: What was your favorite thing about using flat cloth diapers?

My Mother: I like that they rinsed out so much easier than the other cloth diapers we use. They gave my granddaughter more movement. She could run around so much easier, because they were very trim.

Question 2: What was your least favorite part of using the flats?

My Mother: She did require one extra clothing change, but with a toddler that can always happen!

Question 3: Would you use the flats more when you are watching her or the modern cloth diapers?

My Mother: Now that she is starting to be interested in the potty, I think flats would be a good option. They are thinner and she will start to realize a little more wetness. However, modern cloth for naptime so both would be my answer.

Question 4: What is your favorite part of cloth diapering overall?

My Mother: I like the economic benefit for young families. Cloth saves you so much money. Environmentally, it frees our landfills from waste. I was surprised at how easy cloth diapering is. This old MeeMaw has definitely learned a new trick!

How do others in your family feel about cloth diapering and using flats?

Leave a Reply

